Follow this link to skip to the main content NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory California Institute of Technology JPL HOME EARTH SOLAR SYSTEM STARS & GALAXIES SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY BRING THE UNIVERSE TO YOU JPL Email News RSS Mobile Video
JPL Banner
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter
Home Participate
MULTIMEDIA

Archived Webcasts


Mars 2020 Instrument Telecon
Thursday, July 31, 2014, 12 p.m. ET (9 a.m. PT, 1900 UTC)

NASA announces on Thursday, July 31, the instruments that will be carried aboard the agency's Mars 2020 mission, a roving laboratory based on the highly successful Curiosity rover.

NASA Headquarters participants are:

  • John Grunsfeld, astronaut and associate administrator for the NASA Science Mission Directorate, Headquarters, Washington
  • Bill Gerstenmaier, associate administrator for the NASA Human Exploration and Operations Directorate, Headquarters
  • Michael Meyer, lead scientist, Mars Exploration Program, Headquarters
  • Ellen Stofan, NASA chief scientist, Headquarters



Mars 2020 Instrument Telecon
Thursday, July 31, 2014, 3 p.m. ET (noon PT, 1900 UTC)

NASA has announced its next roving Mars laboratory will carry seven instruments that will conduct unprecedented science and exploration technology investigations on the Red Planet.

The Principal Investigators will discuss their selections during a media teleconference:

  • James Bell, Arizona State University in Tempe.
  • Roger Wiens, Los Alamos National Laboratory, New Mexico.
  • Abigail Allwood, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, California.
  • Luther Beegle, JPL
  • Michael Hecht, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
  • Jose Rodriguez-Manfredi, Centro de Astrobiologia, Instituto Nacional de Tecnica Aeroespacial, Spain.
  • Svein-Erik Hamran, Forsvarets Forskningsinstitutt, Norway.

NASA Headquarters participants are:

  • Jim Green, director of Planetary Science
  • Mitch Schulte, Mars 2020 program scientist
  • Ken Farley, Mars 2020 project scientist, JPL

USA.gov
PRIVACY     FAQ     SITEMAP     FEEDBACK     IMAGE POLICY