Orbit Insertion


March 17, 2014

Getting to Mars is difficult enough -- staying there is even more challenging. Odyssey met up with Mars on October 24 02:26 UTC (October 23: 7:26 p.m. PDT/10:26 p.m.EDT). That's when the spacecraft executed an engine firing that slowed it down (relative to Mars) and allowed Odyssey to be captured into orbit around Mars. In this final episode, Odyssey team members explain their rigorous preparations for the event.

320 x 180
video/quicktime

Download

480 x 270
video/quicktime

Download

640 x 360
video/quicktime

Download

1280 x 720
video/quicktime

Download

320 x 180
video/mp4

Download

640 x 360
video/mp4

Download

640 x 360
video/x-m4v

Download

Embed this resource by pasting the following code into your website:

<iframe src="https://mars.nasa.gov/layout/embed/video/?v=181" width="640" height="370" scrolling="no" frameborder="0"></iframe>

By using the above code and embedding this image, you consent to Image Policy.

More Videos ›